An unhandled exception occurred in the user interface. Exception Information: OSearch (Administrator)

30 09 2009

I was trying to configure the Office Sharepoint Server Search through the central administration, but whenever I hitted the Start link I got the message:


“An unhandled exception occurred in the user interface. Exception Information: OSearch (Administrator)”.

First thought went to the service accounts configured on the several sharepoint services, but the problem persisted.

Later I figured it out. It had to do with the configuration of the Farm Search Service Account, which must be in the format DOMAIN\USERNAME.


Hope it saves you some time…


 

Actions

Information

8 responses

16 12 2009
Dilli

Dude, saved my time , thanks.

17 12 2009
ruimelo

Glad I could help 🙂

25 01 2010
Iftikhar

Hi, Thanks for your kind information, I spent 1 hours but could not done it. After that i found your hint, and successfully done it. working well.

Thank you, and keep it up.

GM.

28 01 2010
ruimelo

Hi Iftikhar,

yep, this is a tricky one.
Glad it helped.
Cheers,

Rui

25 01 2010
psmith1117

Thanks for this information. It fixed my problem immediately.

28 01 2010
ruimelo

Hi psmith1117,

Glad it helped!
Cheers,

Rui

9 02 2010
odoro

thanks mate!

I was already pulling out my hair trying to get around this.

sorted now.

thanks for sharing.

9 02 2010
ruimelo

Glad it helped! 🙂 Thanks for the time to post your comment. Cheers, Rui

Leave a Reply

