Sharepoint development: how I’m doing it

31 10 2008

 As a consultant and with a lot of friends in partner companies, I constantly come across people willing to start developing on top of Sharepoint (MOSS/WSS) platform. I agree it is not an easy task. The object model is huge, you have several ways of achieving an objective, but usually there is one that works better than the others. The absence of a full tool set, originated a big (AND GREAT!!!) community workforce that developed a set of tools to achieve those tasks that could only be done through object model. On top of this, there are serious challenges in debugging, accessibility, but mainly in understanding how all the pieces fit together.

This week, a friend of mine told me he was beginning to develop in Sharepoint and if I knew Sharepoint Designer. At that point I thought to myself “Ok, there is a message that is not reaching everybody. How to start developing.”.

Before some of you start throwing rocks because of the above reference to the designer, don’t get me wrong. I use it too! I use it for creating my master pages and layouts, that I then export and pack inside the WSP solution in visual studio. Don’t stress (yet :)). I’ll go through the process ahead…

Disclaimer: This is by no means a suggestion that sharepoint development must be done this way or that this is the best way of doing it. I’m simply showing how I do my developments. This method has proven ME to be a good approach and even so, every new project I change a couple of things to evolve and ajust to each project reality.

Therefore, there is no guarentee that this approach will work for you. Use it at your own risk. I will not be responsible for any unforseen actions/reactions.

In short: This works for me, feel free to use it if you like it, but don’t come after me if it doesn’t work for you 🙂 

</Disclaimer>

I will do this in a serie of posts where I will try to show you:

  1. My environment: What I use
  2. How I structure my work
  3. How I install my work
  4. Which are my prime references
  5.  

I hope this helps! Coments, questions, suggestions are all welcome. 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

